Promising Pursuit, Or A Venture In Vain? (Alliteration Is Fun!)

Here are the Need-To-Knows on my life: I turn 23 in a couple of days; graduated college over a year ago; still live with my parents; work 2 jobs – 1 part-time, 1 unpaid; barely have a social life; am struggling to lose weight; can’t get a handle on my finances; and am generally dissatisfied with my lot. That Quarter Life Crisis is a real bitch, man.

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been seriously considering starting my own blog, just to sorta spice things up a bit. I know everyone and their mom has a blog these days, and so few actually worth reading. I also know I’m not exactly Hemingway when it comes to writing and my life is way too dull to keep public record of. And how does one even begin to cultivate a readership? What if I put in all this time and effort, but nobody ever reads it? Do I really want to set myself up for that kind of failure?

On the other hand, there are a lot of potential benefits. Blogging could be the kind of project that gets me out of my post-grad funk. I like that I’d be doing something productive and creative in my spare time (as opposed to scouring YouTube for old episodes of Are You Afraid of the Dark.) I also really love writing and want to improve my skills, so the practice would be awesome. Then there’s the possible career benefit – as an aspiring filmmaker, a blog would be a great way to let potential employers see what projects I’ve worked on and what I’m capable of doing. But the main thing is, I really want to give it a shot, and I know I’ll regret it if I don’t.

Alright, I’m doing it. Now… what do I write?

About Courtney O.

I do not like to write these bios.

Posted on 09/07/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Congrats on your first blog post, oshady!

  2. Use this blog as a forum to draft your inevitable film script. I fyou begin a screenplay, maybe visitors can suggest things to help you develop your characters (maybe even help name them), and they can give feedback after each entry and anticipate new entries as if it were a serial. What do you think?

    • If I do start writing a script, it’d be cool to post about it, but actually posting my work could put it at risk of being plagiarized. Like your thinking, though!

  3. OMG. Can we have a night of boozing and watching ‘Are You Afraid of the Dark’?? PULEEEZEEE???

    Anyway! I feel your pain. I had my quarter life crisis as well. It is awful. I loves you!! I shall be reading!

  4. I am very interested in reading everything oshady. So is Delaney. Can’t wait to read more!

  5. Your life doesn’t sound that bad. I’m 53 ( is that the half way point in life?) and I live with my kids, and I don’t have a job!!!! Write about whatever strikes you at the moment you turn your computer on. Write for yourself and others will feel your enthusiasm.

  6. I used to be terrified of ayaotd!1 OH and I still live at home and miss you!

  7. Good luck! I discovered that I’m really bad at blogging (so far) but hopefully you will do better!

Leave a Reply

