Disney Vacation Recap — Day 1

Thursday morning, Aunt Sue, Uncle Kenny, Kelly, Steve and I were headed for the airport at 4 am. It was ungodly early, but strong coffee and a breakfast parfait helped perk me up. Everything went smoothly, from security to boarding to the flight itself. I picked up a copy of Entertainment Weekly’s Reunions issue – so glad I did, because I didn’t know they had Lisa Kudrow and Mira Sorvino do a Romy & Michele photo shoot! I also loved the articles on The Princess Bride, Office Space and Home Improvement. Perfect in-flight reading material.

"Have a Romy and Michele day!"

We met up with Mom, Dad, Caitlin, Josh and Laney at Fort Wilderness around 11 and took a bit of a break to rest and unpack. Then we all took the bus to Downtown Disney for lunch at Wolfgang Puck. I ordered butternut squash soup and spinach salad. Hit the spot! I could not have left the table more satisfied. Everyone seemed to really enjoy their lunches, and all of the food smelled and looked delicious. I would definitely go back!

And it was almost as pretty as it was yummy! Almost.

We spent the next couple of hours shopping and walking around Downtown Disney. I made sure to check out the BabyCakes bakery and bought myself a brownie cupcake for later. I’ve been curious about their baked goods for a while now – they’re all completely free of gluten, dairy, egg, soy, and refined sugar. They just sound so insanely anti-yummy, but people, even non-vegans, rave about them, so I just had to test it out for myself.

And they get packaged in little Chinese take-out containers. How could you not love that?

I thought my cupcake was good, but not out-of-this-world divine. The texture was a little odd, almost grainy, but the chocolate-y flavor was nice and rich. The light, sweet frosting was the best part. I’m not really a fan of cupcakes to begin with, so I probably should’ve ordered a brownie or cookie. All said, I’d visit this place again, and I’d definitely recommend it to other people, even if I have to conveniently forget to mention the “vegan, gluten-free” bit.

Photo taken about 2.7 seconds prior to complete demolition.

After we got back to our cabins, I put on my bathing suit and went swimming in one of the pools for a little bit. Then it was time for dinner at the Tavern – loaded nachos and cheese pizza. Very greasy, very tasty! And a perfectly poured Guinness to wash it down.

THAT is how it's done.

The Tavern is located right by Bay Lake, so we wandered to the beach and watched the Magic Kingdom’s “HalloWishes” fireworks show and the Electrical Water Pageant to cap off our night.

It was a long day full of travelling, shopping, eating and exploring. As soon as I was showered and had my things ready for the next morning’s early wake-up, I completely passed out. It was one of the deepest, nicest sleeps I’ve had in a long, long time.

Delaney must have felt very tense while sleeping. She started doing yoga.

About Courtney O.

I do not like to write these bios.

Posted on 10/21/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great 1st day, hope the rest of the trip is as good!

  1. Pingback: Disney Vacation Recap – Day 2 « O'Shady

Leave a Reply

