Thanksgiving 2011

This Thanksgiving, I wanted to make some substantial contributions to dinner. I’m not much of a domestic, but since I’ve been so interested in food recently, I thought the holiday was a great opportunity to try out a couple of recipes. These are the recipes I tried:

  1. Apricot Cinnamon Almond Hummus from Peas and Thank You
  2. Applesauce Nut Bread from Skinnytaste
  3. Cranberry Pear Sauce from Skinnytaste

I wanted to make something for each course (appetizer, main dinner, and dessert) and also thought it would be cool to do different styles of cooking. My main goal was to have at least some lightened up/healthier dishes, but I really wanted to make sure they tasted as good as the fully-loaded stuff. I was really worried how each one would turn out; I almost never cook and as much as I like baking, I’m not super-great at it.

Hummus isn't very photogenic, but the sunflowers and the plaid cloth make this a beautiful picture.

Everything turned out great, and I only almost started one fire! Everyone loved all three dishes, and we ran out of the hummus (to be fair, I’m pretty sure I ate most of it myself, but I was really happy with it.) There was even a request for the applesauce bread to make a repeat appearance at Christmas! So yeah, I’m pretty much ready to go on Top Chef now.

The best thing about this cranberry sauce is that it didn't have that aluminum after-taste we're so used to.

As far as eating healthy, I’d say I did a pretty good job with the appetizers (raw veggies and hummus) and dinner (turkey, cranberry sauce, creamed corn, steamed cauliflower, mashed potatoes, and stuffing; no seconds,) but I went a little bit crazy with dessert and Mom’s champagne sorbet punch. But hey, the whole point of the holiday is to consume a month’s worth of calories in a single night, right?

Swear the applesauce bread tasted a lot better than it looked.

Overall it was an awesome day. The turkey was the best we’ve had in years, there weren’t any zany mishaps resulting in chaos, and Delaney was present, so you know it was a good time.

"Y'all know I just keep it real."

Today, after a nutritious, well-balanced breakfast of three brownies, I braved the Black Friday crowds and did some shopping at Target. I was there to make an exchange (we bought the single disc DVD of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 when it came out, but we really wanted the special edition blu-ray/DVD/digital copy combo pack,) but since I’ve been running low on food I decided to do my grocery shopping while I was there. Did you know they make snack-sized Clif bars and Larabars? Whoever made that decision deserves a medal.

Christmas is still a whole month away, and I’m almost completely done with gift shopping! Only two more people on my list to take care of, and I’m hoping to accomplish that tomorrow. I’m never done before December 23rd, so this is pretty much a miracle.

About Courtney O.

I do not like to write these bios.

Posted on 11/25/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

