Going to Disney World Looking Like Ariel & Not Coming Back Looking Like Ursula – Is It Possible?

This Thursday, I’m flying to Orlando for vacation with my family – we’re going to Walt Disney World! We’re kind of boring when it comes to vacations. We always go on either a Carnival cruise (which I do not enjoy so much, ever since I got seasick on my first one) or we head to WDW. We’ve been there enough times to know that October is the best time of year to go. EPCOT hosts an annual International Food and Wine Festival and the Magic Kingdom throws Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party, both events we’re attending and I’m super stoked for.

Between the amazing beer and wine selections, free candy by the handful, and of course WDW’s awesome ice cream sundaes (the best in the universe,) I’m going to come back to Jersey on Tuesday with an extra 20lbs of pure fat. I’m just trying not to stress about it. I’ll just have to do the best I can to make smart choices whenever I can (but I will have at least 3 sundaes and as much alcohol as my wallet will allow.)

And even though I can’t bring my fitness DVDs along with me, I plan to move as much as possible and make the most of any free time and energy I have to burn. Instead of lounging by the pool, I’ll swim laps and play volleyball. If I’m not exhausted before bed, I’ll do sets of push-ups and crunches. If I get a free day to sleep-in, I’ll get up early anyway and run around the resort (we’re staying at the Fort Wilderness cabins, which is basically a fancy campground for people who hate the outdoors but want to act like they’re “roughing it” for vacation. Plenty of trails to explore.)

Now that's what I call "wilderness."

As with eating, I’m gonna do my best not to beat myself up mentally about missing exercise. WDW vacations require a ton of walking, especially this time of year when the lines are shorter and therefore less time consuming. Certainly better than a cruise, where the temptation to relax by the buffet all day is far too strong.

In order to “prep” for vacation, I’ve been doing some research about dining options (flipping the switch from fast-food-binge-eater to nutrition-conscious-tofu-junkie will make you a compulsive-menu-researcher as well.) Turns out I don’t have too much to worry about. For one thing, Disney’s been really great about catering to visitors with healthier/special diets. Not only is there something healthy at every restaurant and quick-service counter, there’s actually variety! Veggie wraps, turkey sandwiches, grilled chicken, salad, soups… I could go on. And for another thing, food is outrageously priced, so I might run out of money and become and unwitting anorexic before vacation ends. Score! (Obviously joking. I do not endorse anorexia; just bulimia.)

Bet you $20 I still order a hot dog, extra-salty fries and a large Coke.

If I eat as healthy as possible for my actual meals, I won’t feel bad about all the tequila, beer, wine, ice cream, fudge, brownies and cookies I plan on destroying. And then I can come home and starve myself on the master cleanse, or say I’m going to do that while actually filling myself with Halloween candy. (“Discipline”? What is this strange concept of which you speak?)

Cherries on top = fruit serving = I should have 4 a day. It’s for my health.

About Courtney O.

I do not like to write these bios.

Posted on 10/10/2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Have fun in Disney World! Are you dressing up for the Halloween party?

  2. Have a great time! You are right about October, we’ll be following you down in 2 weeks!

Leave a comment